Dimitar Sagaev

Dimitar Sagaev

14.02.1915 г. - 28.10.2003 г.

Plovdiv - Bulgaria

composer, pedagogue, conductor

Dimitar Sagaev graduated from the State Academy of Music in 1940 majoring in Composition under Professor Pancho Vladigerov, Music Theory and Orchestration under Professor Vesselin Stoyanov and Piano under Professor Panka Pelisek. He worked as music teacher at the Plovdiv Male High School (1941-42), bandmaster (1943-46), Head of Art Music Section of Radio Sofia (1946-49), bandmaster of the wind orchestra at the Ministry of Interior (1949-53), music director at the Bulgarian Radio (1946-49) and director of the Music and Opera Theatres Department of the Ministry of Culture (1952-55). In 1948 he joined the staff of the State Academy of Music teaching Symphony Orchestration and Theory of Music. He became full professor and taught generations of composers, conductors and musicologists. He was awarded high state prizes, orders and medals. In 2002 he was given the title Doctor honoris causa by the State Academy of Music.

His work is important; he wrote in a variety of genres: two operas and two ballets; six oratorios and cantatas; seven symphonies; over 20 instrumental concertos; chamber music, etc. His works are well known abroad. His Concerto for violin and orchestra 2 was performed by Dina Schneidermann and the Dresden Philharmonic, conducted by Kurt Mazur; his String Quartet 2 was performed by the famous French ensemble Parenine.

He authored books, textbooks, etc.


Stage music:


Under the Yoke, after the novel by Ivan Vazov (1965); Tsar Samuil (1973).


The Madar Horseman (1961); Eagle’s Rock (1978).



For soloists, choir and symphony orchestra:

In Such a Time (1966); Levski (1976); Urvich (with reader) (1983); The Artist (1987); Rakovski – cantata-poem (1993).

For soloists, female voices choir, traditional music choir and wind orchestra:

The Pleven Epic Story (with reader) (1987).


1 for symphony orchestra, female voices choir, soloist and reader (1964); 2 for big wind orchestra, male and childrens choir (1977); 3 for symphony orchestra, mezzo-soprano, baritone and reader (1979); 5 The Samara Banner for symphony orchestra, solo baritone and reader (1981), 6 for symphony orchestra, mezzo-soprano and reader (1983).

For symphony orchestra:

Symphonies: 4 (1980); 7 Romantic.

Symphonic Scherzo (1946); Youth Suite (1952); Symphonic Dances (1956).

Symphonic poems:

Sofia (1953); Polyeley na balgarkata (The Bulgarian Womans Chandelier) (1974).

Concertos for:

Violin: 1 (1963), 2 (1964); oboe:1 (1966), 2 (1991); piano: 1 (1992), 2 (1994); bassoon (1973); flute 1 (1976); horn (1976); violoncello 1 (1977); trombone (1988); trumpet 1 (1989);clarinet, piano, percussion and symphony orchestra (1993); harp (2002).

For chamber orchestra:

Concertos for:

two violins (1967); kaval; harp and violoncello (1999); two pianos (2000).

For string orchestra:

Concertos for:

guitar (1995); flute 2 (1996); clarinet 2 (1996); violoncello 2 (1997); tube, soprano, alt and string orchestra (1997); trumpet and string orchestra 2 (1998).

For wind orchestra:

Concerto (1983).

Chamber music:

Sextet for two violins, viola, violoncello, clarinet and bassoon (1986).

Two wind quintets (1961).

String quartets:

1 (1946); 2, 3 (1962); 4 (1963); 5 (1966); 6 (1977); 7 (1967). Quartet for harp, oboe, clarinet and bassoon, (1962); Quartet for flute, viola, harp and piano (1975); Quartet for flute, violin, viola and violoncello (1980).


for oboe, clarinet and bassoon (1961); Sirynx Trio for flute, oboe and bassoon (1978).

Sonatas for:

violin and piano; flute and piano; clarinet and piano; bassoon and piano; oboe and piano; horn and piano; trumpet and piano; trombone and piano; double bass and piano (1947 – 1989).

Cantilena for violin and harp (2002).

Six Capriccios for violin solo (1964).

Two Nocturnes for harp (1998).

For piano:

6 preludes (1963); 4 pieces (1994); 4 sonatas (1993-94).

Selected books (published in Bulgarian):

Music Instruments (Sofia, 1974); A Practical Course in Symphony Orchestration, Vol. 1 (Sofia, 1966); Vol. 2 (Sofia, 1973; second edition 1987); A Guide to Wind Orchestration (Sofia, 1965; second edition 1975); Autobiography (Sofia, 1978); Picture Gallery – Music Creators of Our Time (1981); Sasha Popov and the Bulgarian Symphonism (Sofia, 1997).