Emil Mirchev

composer, music theoretician, theologian and culture historian, pedagogue

Емил Мирчев

22.12.1953Sofia – Bulgaria

Emil Mirchev started playing piano at the age ofВ six. From 1972 to 1975 he studied in Prague at the Conservatoire for young people with poor eyesight majoring in Piano under Jozef Skalak, Organ under Gabriela Rydelbauchova and Composition as an elective course under Jaroslav Rybar from 1972 to 1975. After a two-year study at the Academy for Music and Dance Art in Plovdiv (1977-79), he continued his studies at the Nasional Academy of Music in the composition class of Professor Dimitar Tapkoff (1979-86). He received the Pancho Vladigerov Scholarship of the Union of Bulgarian Composers. From 1984 to 1990 he also studied Musicology at the State Academy of Music. From 1990 to 1999 he studied Musicology, Slavic Studies and Protestant Theology at the Georg August University in Goettingen (Germany). His master’s thesis was entitled The Form Structure of ”Three Chorales for Big Organ” by Caesar Franck. In October 2000 he was appointed lecturer in Church History and History of Religion at the Bulgarian Adventist Theological College in Sofia in October 2000. In 2003 he joined the faculty of the New Bulgarian University in 2003.

He composes mainly instrumental music. His piano cycle Introduction and Variations was presented at the International Composers Rostrum in Paris (1985); in 1990 the same work took part in the Arts Festival in Brighton (UK). His works were performed in Austria, Germany, Finland, Russia, USA and Canada. In November 1999 the Culture Department at the City Council of Goettingen organised a concert-portrait of him.


For symphony orchestra:

Concerto for orchestra (1986).

Chamber works:

Reminiscence I for viola and oboe (1997).

For piano:

Toccata (1981);
Introduction and Variants (1982-83);
Sonata con ritornelli (1987);
Recitatives I (1988);
Recitatives II for two tape recorders or piano and a tape recorder (1999);
Reminiscence II for piano and a tape recorder (2003);
Reminiscence III Notturni e capriccii per pianoforte (2004).

For organ:

Poem (1982).

Vocal music:

Spanish Miniatures for soprano, flute, violoncello and harpsichord (1981);
Landscape – for two high female voices and piano on poems by Pencho Slaveykov (1985).