Maria Panayotova


Мария Панайотова


Maria Panayotova (Bulgaria, USA) is a composer who combines experimental approaches to composition, both for acoustic instruments and electroacoustic music. After graduating from the National School for the Arts in Varna she continues her music studies in the United States. She receives her Bachelor and Master degrees from University of Maryland and holds a doctorate in composition from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. Currently she resides in Varna, Bulgaria. Her recent interests involve pieces for video and multichannel audio based on nature footage and sound.

Some of her participations include Videoholica, the International Computer Music Conference, Atlantic Center for the Arts, Chicago Filmmakers ”Switched on Video” Festival, Electronic Music Midwest, Society of Electroacoustic Music in the United States, Florida Electroacoustic Music Festival, SPARKFEST, International Women’s Electroacoustic Listening Room Project- BIMhuis in the Muziekgebouw (Amsterdam), She has won awards for New Orchestral Works at CCM and was Winner of the International Alliance of Women in Music Search for New Music. In 2009 she had her first video/audio installation at the City Gallery in Varna. She would be presenting her installation ”In the Forest” at the World New Music Days in April 2011 in Croatia.

Website: Maria Panayotova


For orchestra:

Transience for orchestra (2000);
Butterfly was Flying for orchestra and female choir (2001);
“Rodopi” for orchestra and video (2012)

Chamber music:

The River-Merchant’s Wife for female voice, shakuhachi, percussion and piano (2001);
SunWaterSkyMoon for four female voices (2001);
Study in Process for string quartet (2003);
The sea and I for trumpet (2000);
Three Miniatures for Piano (1999);
Gathering for flute, percussion and piano (1999).

Electroacoustic music/video:

Study in Process Processed for digital audio (2007);
Water I for digital video and audio (2007);
In the Forest for digital video and audio (2006);
Il Semaforo Blu for digital video and 5.1 audio (2002);
The Blue Traffic Light for digital audio (2002);
Titania for digital audio (2002);
Spiritual Treasures for digital audio (2002).