Mihail Goleminov

composer, performer

Михаил Големинов

02.06.1956Sofia – Bulgaria

Marin Goleminov is son of Marin Goleminov. Up to 1984 he studied Piano, Composition, Choral Conducting and Orchestral Conducting at the State Academy of Music in Sofia. In 1985 he moved to Austria. He continued his studies at the Vienna Academy of Music. He studied Composition with Professor Haubenstock-Ramatti, Electroacoustic and Computer Music with Professor Kaufmann, Orchestral Conducting with Professor Osterreicher and Piano with Professor Osberger, Professor Graf and Professor Ude. He contacted Ton De Leeuw (the Netherlands) and Baltin (Russia). He received several scholarships. From 1989 to 2000 he worked at the Doblinger Music Publishers and for the musicology-publishing house in Vienna. He restored music manuscripts in the Musikverein music archives. He created notation scripts used in modern notation. He founded Orange Factory, music publishing house and studio for computer music and music setting.

His music is connected with modern vanguard and post-modernist tendencies. He wrote music upon commission by music and art groups. He also wrote the music or made the music setting to productions of the Vienna Burgtheater, etc. He composed music to installations, video and web links, arrangements, techno, dance, hip-hop, etc. He was prizewinner at the Karl Maria von Weber Festival in Dresden for his String Quartet N1 (1983); the Summer Music Festival in Hitzaker (Germany, 1992); the ALEA III  Composition Competition organised by the Boston University Fine Art Academy (1989; 1991). He also won two Hambacher Prizes for his Trumpet and Piano Concertos (Germany, 1989), etc. His works were performed at contemporary music forums in Bulgaria, Austria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, the USA and Japan.


For symphony orchestra:


Concerto for piano N1 (1984);
Concerto for piano N2 (1987);
Concerto for trumpet (1985).

Light Wave(1995);
Symphony (2003);
Thracian Mystery (2003).

For chamber orchestra:

Concertino for piano and chamber orchestra (1993).

Chamber music:

Three String Quartets.

For piano:

Three Pieces (1983);
Sonatina (1984);
Ten Pieces (1984).

Floating Metal for piano (commissioned by the SMCQ in Montreal, Quebec 2001).

Five Piano Studies (200-02).

For Two Pianos:

Frozen Hypocrisy(or more pianos) (2002);
Piano People (2002);
Maze Of Ravings.

Electronic and electroacoustic music:

Deja – vu for harpsichord, electric violin and soprano saxophone.

Clarinettissimo for clarinet and multi-channel tape-recorder (1983);
Two Studies for Tape (1983).

Coyote for saxophone quartet and live electronics (commissioned by the Austrian Science and Art Ministry, 1994).

Vox for two voices and live electronics (commissioned by the Hoergaenge Festival in Konzerthaus, Vienna, 1998).

Galileo for piano and electronics (2000);
Le Voyeur for bass clarinet and electronics.

Revelation for two pianos and electronics (2001).

Ungrammatical Liberations (Piano Concerto N3) for piano, little drum, instruments and electronics (2002).

For computer:

X Streams for saxophone quartet, two voices and two improvising computers.

Computer-generated music:

Moon Landscape (2000);
Solar Eclipse (2000).

Illusion Valley for two or more pianos, electronics and saxophone ad libitum (2002).

Light Wave II for big symphony orchestra and electronics.

Cycle “Ministry of Sub-Culture”: Insectizer for violin and electronics (dedicated to Peyo Yavorov);
Subway for two double basses and electronics;
zenWALL 1, 2, 3 (computer-generated music) (2003).