Mihail Goleminov

composer, performer

02.06.1956 - 26.02.2022Sofia - Bulgaria

Mihail Goleminov is son of Marin Goleminov. Up to 1984 he studied Piano, Composition, Choral Conducting and Orchestral Conducting at the State Academy of Music in Sofia. In 1985 he moved to Austria. He continued his studies at the Vienna Academy of Music. He studied Composition with Professor Haubenstock-Ramatti, Electroacoustic and Computer Music with Professor Kaufmann, Orchestral Conducting with Professor Osterreicher and Piano with Professor Osberger, Professor Graf and Professor Ude. He contacted Ton De Leeuw (the Netherlands) and Baltin (Russia). He received several scholarships. From 1989 to 2000 he worked at the Doblinger Music Publishers and for the musicology-publishing house in Vienna. He restored music manuscripts in the Musikverein music archives. He created notation scripts used in modern notation. He founded Orange Factory, music publishing house and studio for computer music and music setting. His music is connected with modern vanguard and post-modernist tendencies. He writes about various musical and artistic formations and supports them with his ideas; the musical layout and music of various productions in the Burgtheater (Vienna), etc.; music for installations; for video and web connections; arrangements; techno, dance, hip-hop, etc. He received high honors at authoritative forums for contemporary music: “Karl Maria von Weber” (Dresden, Germany) (1983) for String Quartet No. 1; two “Hambacher” awards (Germany) (1989) for Trumpet and Orchestra Concerto and Piano and Orchestra Concerto; Hitzacker Summer Music Festival Award (Germany) (1992); performance recommendation by the international jury of the Easter Festival in Salzburg (Austria) (1983); finalist in the ALEA III composition competition organized by the School of Fine Arts at Boston University (USA) (1989; 1991). His works have been performed at forums for contemporary music in Austria, Bulgaria, Russia, France, Italy, Germany, Japan, Poland, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, America.


Works for symphony orchestra:
Concertos for:

Concerto for piano N1 (1984);
Concerto for piano N2 (1987);
Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra (1985);
Light Wave(1995);
Symphony (2003);
Thracian Mystery (2003).

For chamber orchestra:
Concertino for piano and chamber orchestra (1993).

Chamber Music:
Three String Quartets.

For piano:

Three Pieces (1983);
Sonatina (1984);
Ten Pieces (1984);
Floating Metal for solo piano (commissioned SMCQ in Quebec, Montreal, 2001).;
Five Piano Studies (2001-2002).

For two pianos:

Frozen Hypocrisy (or more pianos) (2002);
Piano People (2002);
Maze Of Ravings.

Electronic and electroacoustic music:
Deja – vu for harpsichord, electronic violin and soprano saxophone.;
Clarinettissimo for clarinet and multi-channel tape-recorder (1983);
Two Studies for Tape (1983);
Coyote for saxophone quartet and live electronics (commissioned by the Austrian Ministry of Science and Art, 1994);
Vox for saxophone quartet, 2 voices and live electronics (cf. Hoergaenge festival in Konzerthaus, Vienna, 1998);
Galileo for piano and electronics (2000);
Le Voyeur for bass clarinet and electronics;
Revelation for two pianos and electronics (2001);
Ungrammatical Liberations (Piano Concerto N3) for piano, little drum, instruments and electronics (2002).

For computer:

X Streams for saxophone quartet, two voices and two improvising computers;
Computer-generated music: Moon Landscape (2000); Solar Eclipse (2000).
Illusion Valley for two or more pianos, electronics and saxophone ad libitum (2002);
LightWave II for large symphony orchestra and electronics;

Cycle “Ministry of Sub-Culture”:
Insectizer for violin and electronics (dedicated to P. Yavorov);
Subway for two double basses and electronics;
zenWALL 1, 2, 3 (computer-generated music) (2003).