Stefan Ikonomov

composer, pianist, pedagogue

08.05.1937 – 27.08.1994Sliven – Bulgaria

Stefan Ikonomov studied Composition with Professor Parashkev Hadjiev and Professor Pancho Vladigerov, as well as Piano with Katia Kazandjieva. He graduated from the Moscow Conservatoire in 1960 majoring in Piano under Professor Viktor Merjanov and in Composition under Professor Messner and Professor Anatoliy Alexandrov.
In 1961 he returned to Bulgaria and was appointed at the State Academy of Music as an Assistant Professor of Harmony.
In 1964 he began teaching Score Reading and Playing, a subject he taught up to the end of his life.
He was promoted Associate Professor (1988) and Full Professor (1994).

He had a pronounced inclination towards instrumental music his work being impregnated with bright images and sound coloring.

He wrote a ballet; works for symphony and string orchestra; chamber opuses; choral works; theatre music, etc. His works were broadcast on the radio, in concert and at festivals in Spain, Mexico, USA, France, Russia and Japan.


Stage music:
Horo – ballet after the play by Anton Strashimirov (1963, not staged)

Works for symphony orchestra:
Suite for small symphony orchestra (1958);
Theatre Music for big symphony orchestra (1964);
Piano Concerto (1977).

Works for string orchestra:
Symphony (1982);
Musica Concertante for two pianos, strings and two bongos (1990).

Chamber Music:
Pastoral and Dance for harp and chamber orchestra (1969);
Wind Quintet (1991);
String Quartet (1957);
Moods for string quartet (1968);
Capriccio for four trumpets (1983);
Rhythmic Movements for wind quartet (1980);
Music for two pianos and percussion (1971); .
Dedication And Joke for piano trio (1981);
Meditations for clarinet, piano and percussion (1985);
Prelude, Aria, Interlude and Fugue for violoncello and piano (1965);
Sonata for two harps (1970);
Dedication And No Joke for violoncello and organ (1991).

For piano:
Sonata (1956);
Sonata-Ballad (1966);
Heroic Characteristic Dance for four hands (1974);
Friendship Sonata for two pianos (eight hands) (1979);
Images (four pieces in memory of Dobrin Petkov) (1987);
Moods (1988);
Variations on a theme by A. Alexandrov (1989).

For organ:
Prelude, Chorale and Fugue (1989).