Svetoslav Karagenov


18.02.1967Svishtov – Bulgaria

Svetoslav Petrov Karagenov graduated from secondary education at “Panayot Pipkov” SMU, Pleven (1986), majoring in “Piano”. Master’s degree in “Music Pedagogy” (VMPI/AMTII – Plovdiv, 1992).
As a student in the class of Prof. Ivan Spasov, S. Karagenov was the first to graduate from the newly opened specialty “Composition” (1993 – master’s degree). Since 1994, he has been a full-time assistant in harmony at AMTII. He has a defended doctorate on the problems of accompaniment (2014).
His creative interests are mainly in the field of chamber-instrumental music.
In addition to Bulgaria, his works have been performed in Poland, the USA, and Italy.
Svetoslav Karagenov is the winner of the First Prize of the First All-Bulgarian Academic Competition, Plovdiv, 1993 and a prize of the First Competition with international participation “Prof. Ivan Spasov”, Plovdiv, 1997.


Chamber works:
Two String Quartets;
Wind Quartet;
Sonatas for various formations – trumpet and piano, horn and piano, violin and piano, flute and piano, for horn duo;
Seven-Part Open Air Cycle for Two Flutes and Piano;
Cycle “Four Moments of Solitude” – for mezzo-soprano and piano;
Concert piece for clarinet, percussion and piano;
Children’s micro suite based on selected fairy tales by A. Karaliychev;
“Inspirations” – for chamber orchestra;
Piano cycles “Reflections”;
“Six plays in memory of Webern”;
Scherzo rustico for piano four hands;
“Panopticum” for piano.

Symphonic works:
“Bulgarian Poem” – for large symphony orchestra;
Symphony in three movements, etc.

Published works:
Sonata for two horns;
Sonata for horn and piano (in the collection “P. Vladigerov, I. Spasov, S. Karagenov – teachers and students”, comp. S. Karaivanov. 2005)