Petar Petrov

composer, pedagogue, pianist, conductor

23.06.1961 - 10.01.2022Stara Zagora – Bulgaria

Petar Petrov graduated from the State Academy of Music majoring in Composition under Professor Alexander Raychev. He specialised with Anatol Vieru. He taught Polyphony at the Blagoevgrad University (1989-1992) and at the State Academy of Music (1990-1994). Since 1993 he has been teaching at the Secondary Music School in Stara Zagora. He is Head of the Music Theory Subjects Department and also works as accompanist and conductor. Since 1999 he has been artistic director of the festival Days of the Bulgarian Music held in Stara Zagora.

He wrote six symphonies, concertos and other works for symphony, chamber and string orchestra; studies for solo instruments and ensembles and other chamber works; electronic and theatre music, folksong arrangements, etc. In his music, he uses various modern compositional techniques. He won distinctions at national and international competitions, among which is a diploma he received in 1988 at the Second International Competition for Composers and Pianists in Ecuador for his Concert Improvisation for piano. The work was also included in the permanent exhibition of the International Museum of Music in London. His piano work In Memoriam composed in memory of Ivan Spassov was premiered at the Moscow Autumn Festival in 1997. His works were performed in the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Russia and Ecuador.


Works for symphony orchestra:

Symphony N1 Lamento (1987);
Symphony N2 Catharsis (1990);
Symphony N3 Memento… (1994);
Symphony N4 Dona nobis pacem (1995);
Symphony N6 Because These We Are (1998).

Concertos for:

violin and orchestra N1 (1987) and N2 (1998);
piano and orchestra (1999).

Concerto piccolo N4 (1989).

Chamber Music:
Concerto piccolo:

N1 for flute, violin and piano (1987);
N2 for violin, violoncello and piano (1988);
N3 for childrens choir, two violins, maracas and piano (1989).

Studios 1-17 for different solo instruments and ensembles (1988-98);

Ricercar for three clarinets (1989);

Dialogues with Silence for clarinet and violoncello (1994);
Estampi for clarinet, violoncello and piano (1994);
Bach – Studiums for clarinet, viola and piano (1995);
Dialogues with Mr. Galilee for chamber ensemble (1997);
Devil’s Concerto for clarinet and instrumental ensemble (1997);
Six Meditations for different chamber ensembles (1997);
In Memory of Anatol Vieru (1999).
“7 Last Rituals” for violin, cello and piano (2000).

For piano:

Polyphonic pieces (1980,1985);
Four sonatas (1983-87);
Variants and Fugue (1983);
Divertimento for piano on four hands (1984);
Concert Improvisation (1988);
In Memoriam (1997);
Toccata (1997);
Ghosts from the Viennese Forest – six comments for piano (1998).

Choral music:
Lauda for mixed choir and harpsichord (1998).

Electroacoustic music:
Symphony N5 Alla Bulgarese (1997).

Messages I for pan-flute and electronic instruments (1997);
Messages II for voice and electronic instruments (1999).