Danko Yordanov

composer, conductor

06.05.1959Moscow - Russia

Danko Yordanov graduated from the State Academy of Music in 1982 majoring in Composition under Professor Alexander Raychev. In 1986 he specialised in Berlin under Professor Isang Yung. In 1988 he was appointed He worked at the Youth Theatre in Sofia as conductor and composer. In 1990 he joined the staff of the National Theatre and Film Academy and as a lecturer in music; in 2003 he was promoted associate professor.
He composed instrumental works and theatre music. His works have been performed many times in Europe, Asia and America.
Prof. Danko Yordanov is the author of the music for more than 120 theater productions.
He premiered over 45 musicals as a conductor, orchestrator, pianist, vocal teacher and music director.
He is also the author of works for symphony orchestra, piano and various instrumental ensembles.
The music of Prof. D. Yordanov has been distinguished with various awards, including:
Pancho Vladigerov Prize (1981), the first prize of the Higher School of Arts in Berlin (1985), the second prize at the Vercelli International Composition Competition (1989), the second prize at the Earth and Men Competition (1994), the Askeer Prize for the music to the play Let’s Play Theatre by Rada Moskova (1995).


Stage music:
Musical plays:

The Musicians from Bremen after Grimm Brothers, produced by Vania Yonkova (1992-93) in State Puppet Theatre, Pazardzhik;
When Dolls Don’t Sleep by Leda Mileva, produced by P. Kiorlenski (Youth Theatre, Sofia);
Let’s Play Theatre by Rada Moskova, produced by P. Kiorlenski (Youth Theatre, Sofia);
Peter Pan by Valery Petrov, produced by Grisha Ostrovski (Youth Theatre, Sofia);

Musketeer Honest to God by Valery Petrov, film-musical, produced by Henri Kulev (Bulgarian National Television);

Salad – TUTTI TENORI – music-theatre irony (National Palace of Culture, 2002-03).

Works for symphony orchestra:
Symphony Triptych (1986);
Polygraph (1988).

Chamber Music:
Pastoral suite for flute and piano.

For clarinet and piano:

Reminiscences; The Madness of Mordillot.

For piano:

Four pieces for piano for four hands.

Theatre music:
Tale about the Twins by Pancho Panchev;
Last Stop by Hristo Boychev (1989-90);
Foullando in calibistris – French love farces;
Fernando Crapp Wrote to me This Letter, by T. Dorst;
The Snow Queen by E. Schwarz;
Three Sisters by Anton Chekhov;
“Cunning Peter” by Yavor Spasov;
Women in Parliament after Aristophanes;
Make Love – by A. Rossi, F. Arrabal and J. Heller;
Tales by Gianni Rodari;
Varava by Michel de Gelderode;
Darkness by Anton Strashimirov;
Errors Born out of Love by Lope de Vega (The Youth Theatre, Sofia).
Four Tales about a Wedding by M. Mashatova (The National Theatre and Film Academy);
Love’s Labours Lost by William Shakespeare (The Sofia Drama Theatre).
One Night Out by Harold Pinter (The Plovdiv Drama Theatre);
A Skull in Connemara by Martin McDonagh (The Ivan Vazov National Theatre).