Lilcho Borissov (Leviev)

composer, clarinettist

01.12.1925 – 14.03.1996Sofia - Bulgaria

Lilcho Borissov is son of the eminent opera composer and conductor Boris Leviev. He graduated from the Giuseppe Verdi Conservatoire in Milan (1952) majoring in Clarinet under Giampieri and Composition under Guedini. For two years he played the clarinet at the Scala of Milan. Upon return, he was appointed assistant of Professor Stoyan Stoyanov at the State Academy of Music (1952-54). He also worked as soloist-clarinettist at the Sofia Opera (1952-61), soloist-clarinettist at the Sofia Philharmonic (1961-1984). He was also member of chamber ensembles.

He wrote works for symphony, chamber, wind and jazz orchestra; chamber instrumental music; pop music, etc. His works for wind orchestra marked the development of the genre in Bulgarian music and were included in the repertoire of professional and amateur orchestras. His works were awarded prizes and were successfully performed in Germany, Switzerland, Russia, Cuba, Austria, etc.

He is honorary member of the Union of Italian Composers.


Works for symphony orchestra:
Symphony Prelude (1982);
Prelude concertante (1984).

Concertos for:

violin (1971);
symphony orchestra and percussion (1977);
two pianos (1980);
violoncello (1984).

Works for chamber orchestra:
Clarinet Scherzo (1966).

For wind orchestra:
Concerto for winds and double basses “Scenes from Sofia” (1977);
Concerto capriccio for alt saxophone and winds (1984).

Fantasia and fugue; March in G; Improvisation.

For jazz orchestra:

Chamber Music:
Sextet for two clarinets, two bassoons and two French horns;
Space Scenes Quartet for flute, oboe, clarinet and piano (1960);
Trio for clarinet, bassoon and piano;
Sonata for violin and piano (1965);
Paraphrases for flute and piano (1979);
Intermezzo for oboe and piano (1980).