Petar Hristoskov

composer, violinist, pedagogue

08.03.1917 – 19.06.2006Sofia - Bulgaria

Petar Hristoskov graduated from the State Academy of Music in 1936 majoring in Violin under Professor Sasha Popov. Still a student, he already was member of the Royal Symphony Orchestra. From 1940 to 1943 he studied at the Berlin Academy of Music under Professor G. Havemann and G. Malke. During the period he successfully performed in Berlin, Munich, Vienna and Salzburg. In 1943 he returned to Bulgaria, where he joined the Sofia Philharmonic (1952-54). He played with his wife the pianist Zlatka Arnaudova. He formed a trio together with the pianist and composer Professor Dimitar Nenov and the violoncellist Professor Konstantin Popov. Since 1944 he performed successfully in Asia and Europe. He won recognition not only as a performer, but also as a pedagogue at the State Academy of Music, Professor since 1950. He was invited to be a jury member at many international competitions.
He is author of orchestral and chamber instrumental music. His compositions emphasize his virtuoso interpretation style. His works for violin have entered the repertoire of the Bulgarian violinists and are studied for educational and performing purposes.


For voice and symphony orchestra:

Vocalise for soprano, alt and symphony orchestra, op. 41.

Works for symphony orchestra:

Concerto-Symphony, op.16;
Triple concerto for piano, violin, violoncello and orchestra, op.39;
Double Concerto for violin, violoncello and orchestra, op.37.

For violin and orchestra:
Concert for violin N1, op.6;
Concert for violin N2, op.9;
Concert for violin N3, op.35.

Concertino, op.8;
Toccata, op.10;

Concert for violoncello N1, op.19;
Concert for violoncello N2, op.25.

Concert for piano N1, op.23;
Concert for piano N2, op.28.

Works for string orchestra:
Suite, op.17. 17.

Chamber Music:

Moto Perpetuo for violin and piano, op.2.
Improvisation and Presto for viola and piano, op.14.

For violin:
Rhapsodies, op.21;
12 Capriccios, op.1;
Suite, op.13;
24 Capriccios, op.24;
Prelude and Dance, op.34.
Fantasy for violoncello, op.15.